New Shoots

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

This being my first ever post on a blog I am unsure of exactly what to write.

I have decided that the time is right for me to do something that I have always wanted to do, write a book.

I have visions of my blog being the story of how this book comes together over the next few weeks, months, years or whatever long it takes. Whether or not the actual blog measures up to my vision.. we will wait and see.

 

I had originally started on the idea of writing an adult crime fiction book and I my thought process was going well, when something that my daughter brought home from art class in school completely changed my plan, I am hoping that this will  prove to have been a piece of divine inspiration.. The story will now be dedicated to my soon to be 9 year old daughter and is a children’s adventure story.. bit of a change of course but hopefully thins will run smoothly from here..

4 thoughts on “New Shoots

  1. The first serious story I wrote was for my ten-year-old daughter. It was her very own SF adventure with Dr Who. It was even published in a Dr Who magazine. Don’t give up on the crime/mystery novel though, I’ve just completed my first one, which is going through its final edit at the moment. If you need any help, just give me a yell 🙂

  2. Oh, I almost forgot. There are lots of Flash Fiction sites on WordPress that will help hone your writing skills and encourage you in your writing endeavours. Some are up to 200 words and some are up to 750 words. If you’re interested, try some of these…
    http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/sunday-photo-fiction-june-29th-2014/
    http://anonymouslegacy1.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/visdare-68-precarious/
    http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/4-july-2014/
    http://leannesype.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/blog-hop-photo-reveal-65/
    They’re a good way to to get your feet wet in the writing game.

    • Hi Lyn
      Thank you for your comments. I have not given up on my crime novel, just put to one side for the time being. Thank you for the info on Flash Fiction sites, I discovered the Sunday Photo one yesterday but didn’t know about the rest, will definitely be looking at those.

Leave a Reply

